Who is the King of Metal Hill?

12Oct09

I’ve got to get this out somewhere, I think I’ll just post it here.

I like Metallica. I like Megadeth.

But put up against Megadeth, Metallica these days is simply finished in my eyes. They’ve failed the “Metal” included in the very name. They might as well change their name to “Rocklica” or “Attempted-Punklica” or “Countrywesternlica”. The “Metal” just doesn’t exist there anymore.

And what  is this about Death Magnetic “going back to their roots”? I’ve listened to this album dozens of times and even as musically intuitive as I am, I simply fail to see any hint of the original sound anywhere in it. The mixing of the album is far from anything in their “roots”. James’ singing is miles away from any tone or texture he once had. Kirks solos are one dimensional excuses for the beautiful arpeggios he once soured through back in his younger years. Lars simply proves that he no longer has the stamina for the power, speed, and complexity he used to wield when the band was making the real impression on metal. And Rob Trujillo thinks he’s a monkey with a guitar in his hands. How, again, is this considered “metal’?

Now lets take a look at Megadeth.
Dave Mustaine successfully preserved his singing voice, and all the while also preserved his style and skill to play exactly what his original vision was born to emanate: Actual fast paced Metal. Even after their stages of experimental mainstream radio sound, Dave kept his plan solid: if this experimentation came short of what was hoped, the sound would transform back into what made them genuine in the first place.

If there is one bone I probably have to pick with Megadeth though, (and it is only one, unlike Metallica), it would be Dave’s style of lyrical writing. He’s almost completely turned his back away from conforming words to the rhythm through schemes such as metaphorical rhyming. He’s fallen more to simply spouting a literal story or however his perception sees the government in a fashion that almost bluntly resembles reading random articles in a magazine. However, I have heard some evidence that he’s recently attempted to back away from this style a bit. Let’s see what happens during their next album release, whenever it may be.

Either way, the main idea here is simple, and I’ve debated it over chats over and over again. Now its time to post it here: Metallica is no longer metal. Megadeth has claimed the throne as king of this hill.

2 Responses to “Who is the King of Metal Hill?”

  1. 1 lianamerlo

    I agree that it USED to be Metallica. You know it’s sad but true (hehee). I like Megadeth too, but I feel like people don’t pay them as much attention.
    It’s funny because whenever I see metal shows when we’re waiting for bands to get on stage, people just start shouting band names looking for approval. The ones that always get nods are Pantera, In Flames (at least everything before Reroute to Remain), and most of all Slayer. And it’s true if you really want to piss off your parents when you’re a teenager play Slayer. Or Anal Cunt. That’s metal. Maybe I’m biased because my Mom likes Megadeth. It just wasn’t extreme enough for me.

  2. i’m almost always wandering all around the internet most of the time therefore I tend to peruse a good deal, which isnt commonly a good thing as a large amount of the internet websites I find are made up of useless waste copied from several other web sites a trillion times, however I’ll hand it to ya this blog is genuinely decent and delivers some original content, therefore many thanks for removing the fad of exactly copying other people’s sites, if you ever want to have fun with playing a couple of hands of facebook poker together with me just shout out – you have my e mail 🙂


Leave a Reply

